Seeds of South Australia
Leptospermum laevigatum (Myrtaceae)
Coast Tea-tree
List of species for Leptospermum
Display more images
Click on an image to enlarge it
Herbarium regions:
Eyre Peninsula, Northern Lofty, Yorke Peninsula, Southern Lofty, Kangaroo Island, South Eastern
NRM regions:
Adelaide and Mount Lofty Ranges, Eyre Peninsula, Kangaroo Island, Northern and Yorke, South East
AVH map:
Australian distribution map (external link)
SA Census:
Census of South Australian plants (external link)     [genus Leptospermum]
Name derivation:
Leptospermum from the Greek 'leptos' meaning fine, thin or slender and 'sperma' meaning seed; referring to the narrow seeds of the type species. Laevigatum from the Latin 'laevigatus' meaning smooth; probably referring to the appearance of the plant.