Seeds of South Australia
Spinifex hirsutus (Gramineae)
Coast Spinifex
List of species for Spinifex
Display more images
Click on an image to enlarge it
Herbarium regions:
Nullarbor, Eyre Peninsula, Yorke Peninsula, Southern Lofty, Kangaroo Island, South Eastern
NRM regions:
Adelaide and Mount Lofty Ranges, Alinytjara Wilurara, Eyre Peninsula, Kangaroo Island, Northern and Yorke, South East
IBRA regions
Bridgewater (NCP01)Naracoorte Coastal Plain
 Near Threatened
Kangaroo Island (KAN01)Kanmantoo
 Least Concern   [undercollected]
Fleurieu (KAN02) 
 Least Concern   [undercollected]
Southern Yorke (EYB01)Eyre Yorke Block
 Least Concern
St Vincent (EYB02) 
 Least Concern
Eyre Hills (EYB03) 
 Least Concern   [dune stabiliser]
Talia (EYB04) 
 Least Concern   [dune stabiliser]
Eyre Mallee (EYB05) 
 Least Concern   [dune stabiliser]
Murray Lakes and Coorong (MDD03)Murray Darling Depression
 Least Concern   [no records but occurs here]
Yalata (NUL03)Nullarbor
 Least Concern   [dune stabiliser]
Hampton (HAM01)Hampton
 Least Concern   [dune stabiliser]
RSCA map:
Regional Species Conservation Assessments per IBRA subregion. Please click the thumbnail map.
AVH map:
Australian distribution map (external link)
SA Census:
Census of South Australian plants (external link)     [genus Spinifex]
Name derivation:
Spinifex from the Latin 'spina' meaning thorn and 'facere' meaning to make; referring to the sharp pointed leaves